Las Day in New York City

by Jose M Arevalo

On our last day in New York, I wanted to keep it simple and relaxed. Our flight did not leave until 7:00 pm so we had a few hours to kill before heading out to the airport. We got up late, showered, got ready, checked out and headed to Coco and Toto to drop precious off for a few hours.

I wanted to take my son to the zoo where the penguins of Madagascar lived at but when I got to the Central Park Zoo I wasn’t sure if that was the correct zoo. We really did not have much time but we got to see the few little animals they have there and my son was frantically looking for Skipper, Kowalski, Rico and Private and the rest of the gang in the movie and cartoon series. We saw the whole thing in less than an hour but we had fun regardless, there is a sea lion, meerkats, an aviary with tropical birds and penguins!

After we were done we wanted to eat lunch at a nice place but my son opted for the fast food restaurant they had in the zoo. We had chicken fingers and fries which were not really that good but I went along with my son because we had to get back to the hotel and pick up our bags o heat to the airport. We then went to a petting zoo on the side of the main zoo and we needed to get in were the main zoo tickets. This was a more fun place for my son since there were a few kid play and exploring areas and food pellets vending machines for the lamas and goats they had their on display. They even had two big pot belly pigs who were taking a nap when we were there.

One hour later, we walked a few blocks down from Central Park, we passed the Plaza Hotel, bought lottery tickets, got souvenirs and took a taxi to go back to Coco and Toto, we told them how grateful we were for taking care of our dog and we headed back to the Hotel.

My plan was to leave the hotel by 4:00 pm, one hour trip to JFK airport and be there at the right time to catch a plane and it actually worked out as planned. We shared a ride with a couple from Argentina who were there for a wedding.

Once we were checked in to our flight, I had my son sit inside the terminal while I walked Precious out for a last time before we walk to the gate which is a point of no return. She had her last piss in NYC and we headed to our terminal.

Precious behaved well during the flight; five hours and a few White Russians later courtesy of American Airlines we got to Las Vegas right on time. Once we were in our truck and on our way home to the airport all I heard was my son talking of how much fun he had had on our trip. Precious was also excited to be out her bag.

Home was warm and cozy, I was happy everything went as planned and we were safe and sound, we went to sleep right away – an adventure to the big apple had ended.